Wake Forest President Susan Wente


Dr. Susan R. Wente

Dr. Susan R. Wente became Wake Forest’s 14th president on July 1, 2021. Like Wake Forest itself, Wente has a history of taking bold steps in education. She was selected not only for her exceptional reputation as an acclaimed academic and charismatic leader, but also for her vision of Wake Forest as a welcoming, inclusive community that will continue to make positive change in the world.

Wente is a renowned biomedical scientist who served as Vanderbilt’s provost and vice chancellor for seven years and interim chancellor for eleven months.

Office of the President


Rogan Kersh

Dr. Rogan Kersh became the fifth provost in Wake Forest history when he was appointed the University’s chief academic officer in July 2012. In addition to overseeing Wake Forest’s undergraduate and graduate academic programs, Dr. Kersh serves as professor of political science, keeping one foot in the classroom as a dedicated teacher-scholar in Wake Forest’s unique one-on-one approach to education.

Office of the Provost

Rogan Kersh, Provost, Wake Forest University

Michele Gillespie, Dean of the Undergraduate College

Michele Gillespie

Dean, Undergraduate College

Dr. Michelle Roehm

Michelle Roehm

Interim Dean, School of Business

Law School Dean Jane Aiken

Jane Aiken

Dean, School of Law

  • BA (Hollins College); JD (New York University); LLM (Georgetown University)
  • 336.758.5435
  • aiken@nullwfu.edu


Jonathan L. Walton

Dean, Divinity School

  • BA (Morehouse College); PhD and MDiv (Princeton Theological Seminary)
  • 336.758.3957
  • divdean@nullwfu.edu

Julie Freischlag, Interim Dean and CEO, School of Medicine

Julie Ann Freischlag, M.D.

CEO, Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist; Dean, Wake Forest School of Medicine; Chief Academic Officer, Atrium Health

  • BS (University of Illinois); MD (Rush University)
  • 336.716.3408

Brad Jones, Dean, Graduate Programs in Arts and Sciences

Brad Jones

Dean, Graduate Programs in Arts and Sciences

Dwayne Godwin, Dean, Graduate Programs in Biomedical Sciences

Dwayne Godwin

Dean, Graduate Programs in Biomedical Sciences

Tim Pyatt, Dean of Z. Smith Reynolds Library

Tim Pyatt

Dean, Z. Smith Reynolds Library

  • BA (Duke University); MLS (North Carolina Central University)
  • 336.758.5478

Charles L. Iacovou, Dean of Business

Charles L. Iacovou

Dean, School of Professional Studies and Vice Provost for Charlotte Programs

  • BS (University of Vermont); PhD (University of British Columbia)
  • 336.758.4579

Vision & Mission

Wake Forest combines a liberal arts core with graduate and professional schools and innovative research programs.

More on our vision and mission

The Strategic Plan

The overarching priorities critical to the vitality of the University.

View the Strategic Plan

The Master Plan

A thirty-year projection for the Reynolda Campus.

View the Master Plan

Annual Report

Download the latest financial report.

Download the Annual Report

WFU Information

Financial reports and consumer information.

View WFU Information